Candy Corn Hats

Back in the fall I realized that Littlest’s pumpkin hat (from when he was a baby!) was getting a might small. Time for a new hat! I did think about just making another pumpkin but decided since I had this lovely extra-chunky yellow yarn, that a candy corn hat would be MUCH more fun to make.

Candy Corn Hat

And it was πŸ™‚

Candy Corn Hat

(Sorry ’bout the pics being so little I need to dig up the originals; these are off Ravelry.)

Course I was all proud of myself for using stash yarn til I realized I had to BUY orange and white to make it work. Oops. But that’s ok.. a) I’ll totally use the white and b) the orange was majorly on sale.

The white and yellow are both Cascade Yarns Magnum and the orange is Debbie Bliss Como. I looooove the Magnum in a major way. It was on sale a while back at my LYS and my boy begged for some red. So we all picked out a color.. yellow for littlest, aqua for me, and red for eldest. I still don’t know what to do with the red though. Contemplating a colorwork hat for eldest as he can still wear his other red hat. Maybe with white snowflakes? I dunno. He doesn’t wear hats a lot. Youngest, on the other hand, LOVES hats.

I winged the pattern after perusing online a little bit. I thought, how hard could it be? And indeed it was not hard once I established what gauge I had. I think the yellow is straight up, the orange starts decreasing every other row, and the white is every row. Or something like that.

Funny thing about candy corn accessories: People seem unable to decide what order the colors are in. I had to go look at some real candy corn!

Anyway, I love how it looks, and youngest appears to love his hat too. He requests it! How cute is that? And we get lots of comments. I assume this is a good thing πŸ™‚ He’s very cute in it.

I made a hat for me too, the Shroom pattern from Knitty. Here it is:

Shroom Hat

I love it but it’s VERY warm, so it’s not like I wear it every day. I also feel a bit like a fake.. it’s a bit rasta for me. But I like how it looks too, so oh well! This is the Magnum again. Yum.

I have a few other hats on the go… a snail hat (Zimmermann pattern) for eldest, a thinner silk slouchy hat (again) for me, and a few baby hats πŸ˜‰ Perhaps this will be the year of the hat! Or not. Perhaps it’s just the phase of the hat. At least they get used and appreciated!

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.