Ewoks!

My friend Will asked if I could make some crocheted ewoks. Sure, I thought, why not? I can crochet.

Well. I *thought* I could crochet. Turned out I had a lot to learn! Not only about crochet in general but amigurumi in particular. But I persevered because a) I said I would and b) how stinkin’ cute are crocheted ewoks? Very cute. I like cute. So I persevered.

Ewok amigurumi aka crocheted ewoks.

I’m so glad I didn’t give up. Aren’t these little guys cute?

The boys, of course, were totally enamoured and wanted their own.

Turns out they were enamoured with their own for about 2 seconds. Oh well. *I* like them. In fact I’m seriously considering building a treehouse for the ewoks. Because really, why not? How cute would that be? Very cute. You see the theme here.

The funny thing is that the boys were totally fascinated with them before they even looked like ewoks. In fact they looked positively alien for a while. I imagine if you did these in grey and stopped at this point you’d have that alien guy from American Dad.

The most important thing I learned from this experience is that I now have a helluva lot more respect for crochet than I used to! It takes a lot more attention than I expected, particularly to counting. Not a craft night friendly activity. But the results are super cute and fast. I hope to do more. Someday. 😀

Pattern by Lucy Ravenscar at Etsy
Yarn: Cascade 220 superwash (slightly thinner than regular as this called for dk) plus random scraps for the hoods, hands and feet.

This entry was posted in Crochet. Bookmark the permalink.