Real Yarn

Oh look! It’s May! Apparently it’s time for another blog post 🙂 This time about spinning as I haven’t sewed squat since April. There’s also been some knitting happening, but that is lacking photos.

However, I have been spinning on my lurvely new wheel, which I am still loving. Back in… February? March? I went to a spinning night at The Fiber Gallery, my favorite local yarn store. The spinners there were very friendly and a font of information. My spinning improved dramatically in just one evening with them! When I got home I finished off my purple wool, the gift roving that came with my wheel.

I ended up with three bobbins. It was very obvious which was my first — very thick/thin with big patches of fuzz and some very, very skinny sections! The singles got more even and predictable as I got better at drafting, and the final bobbin reminded me very much of Malabrigo, if I do say so myself 😉

The problem, however, with having the singles done was that meant next I needed to ply. Hmm. I read up on plying, I watched You Tube videos, I thought about it a lot, but I couldn’t bring myself to actually start to ply.

Months passed.

The May spinning night was coming up and I knew I should go so I could get over this hurdle! And true to form, the spinners were all incredibly helpful. I now know how to ply — with two singles at any rate. In fact I know two different ways to ply! And now I have yarn.

Real yarn.

Really bad yarn.

But still, real yarn, and it’s very pretty in its own lovely and unique way 😉

The yarn was wound onto my Niddy Noddy, washed, and is now drying peacefully. I’m not sure it’s “balanced” but all in good time. It’ll do.

On the other hand, I’m not entirely sure what to do with it as I didn’t really have a plan for making it beyond learning to spin. It’s super squishy and soft, and I’m fairly sure knitting with it will ruin how pretty it is. But I’m also not one to have yarn just sitting around appreciating it for its own sake. I like my yarn to turn into something I can use. So I’m sure I’ll find something to do. I have 103.3 yards after all! Perhaps a hat. Maybe something by EZ as both the Ganomy and the Snail hat are on my list of things to make.

As soon as that yarn was set drying, I started on my next spinning project — some incredibly beautiful wool from Frabjous Fibers that I got at Madrona. It’s a colorway called “Redwood Forest” and it’s full of deep greens, copper, and lots of colors in between. It’s beautiful. In fact, there’s a picture here. At Madrona I walked by petting it about four times before I finally gave in and just bought it.

I’m slightly nervous about spinning it up though. It’s so pretty I’m afraid I’ll ruin it! After all, plying will undoubtably mix the colors. Hopefully it will still look nice though. The singles are much thinner this time around so I’m hopeful I’ll have more yarn to play with when I’m done!

And when I am done…. I don’t really have much in the way of spinning fiber! Such a shame.. guess I’ll have to go shopping 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Real Yarn

  1. Hi, I have enjoyed reading your blog, but I would love to know whether you have followed up on the felt gnomes with a little gnome habitat…am waiting to get some ideas…shameless I know, but I am in another hemisphere so can’t ever catch up with you and I am creatively challenged….
    Thanks!

Comments are closed.