Baby Quilt: A Finished Object

I tried to take pictures of the baby quilt this morning. Turns out it was too bright. Bah! (Imagine that, complaining about the sun!!) It will be ages before I find time to try again, though, so this is all I got.

Here’s the front (amazingly I also didn’t take a picture of the entire front. Doh #2):

Here’s the zig zag quilt from the Purl Bee that originally inspired mine. I knew I wanted to make the new baby a quilt, but I was having a hard time finding inspiration. I saw this one, and instantly knew that was it!

Since this was my first quilt, I didn’t want to mess with it too much, but I also knew that 1) there was too much white in that quilt for my babies, who are notoriously messy and like to poop in places other than accepted receptacles, and 2) I wanted to include some black and white fabrics in there. Now that I’m thinking about it, I cannot for the life of me recall what I did! I think I made the triangles smaller, got rid of the extra white and added in the B&W rows, then added black around to make it the right size. Or something like that!

Here’s the back:

The back pissed me off enormously because I cut it wrong in a fit of sleep deprivation (I’m assuming it’s that and not stupidity, but I suppose you never know) but I definitely like the pieced back better, so hurray for occasional mistakes! And now I have some extra number fabric to play with πŸ™‚

Speaking of fabric, shopping for fabrics was fun! I discovered “charm packs” which were beyond awesome for triangles. Cut them in half and voila! Two triangles. Clever, no? πŸ™‚ And inexpensive!

Some of these fabrics are actually from the stash. Some are fabrics purchased for the Boo to play with back when he was a babe. So there are quite a few sentimental touches in this quilt.

If I made any mistakes regarding fabric, I have a mix of off-white and white-white and I’m not sure I’m happy about that. It bugs me a bit. Next time I’ll try to keep it to one or the other.

It’s hard to tell from a distance, but the majority of these triangles are BAD. Bad, bad, bad. Most of the corners look like these. Cutting is obviously not my strong suit.

The binding was much more enjoyable than I was expecting. HUGE thanks to Liane for actually sewing me a sample! I was stuck on the binding for a long time.

At first I could not for the life of me wrap my head around what I was supposed to be doing. So the sample (half completed, the rest for me to practice on) was awesome. Then I tried to follow the advice given here at Crazy Mom Quilts, but clearly I measured wrong (again, not a shock) because no less than TWO of my corners (and hello, there are only four!) have a color change, which means the fabric was twice as thick to sew through. Joy. So two corners look like this.

Oh.. and I also didn’t clip the seams for the binding at all, so it’s ridiculously thick in places. I sat down at my sewing machine with the iron all warmed up and charged through making the binding and sewing it on, all the while thinking I had read about bindings so often that surely I knew what I was doing by now. But no. Not so much.

Oh well. Doesn’t harm the functionality, right? πŸ™‚

The actual quilting part was…. interesting. I tried to use coordinating colors for the sewing, i.e. blue on blue sections, orange on orange sections, white on white sections, and black on black sections. I used white for the bobbin thread in all cases but the black. This turned out to be a bad idea. The back looks goofy. You can’t tell from a distance but the black thread just looks wierd on the back. Of course it looks fine on the front. I think I was afraid the white would pull through (and it did on some of the others but you can’t really tell).Β  Next quilt I’m doing one color for bobbin and top thread and I’m going to quilt it continuously and there won’t be any of these fifty bajillion threads to tie off afterwards! Sheesh.

I also didn’t “stitch in the ditch” as recommended in the original pattern. I talked to the only quilting diva I know (that would be Kathy at Pink Chalk Studio) and asked if that was such a good idea. Seems to me that if you press your seams open (which seems logical, else you’d end up with triple thickness fabric on whatever side you pressed the seam) then when you stitched along that seam you’d mostly be sewing down thread and not fabric. Doesn’t sound sturdy to me. Kathy confirmed that it was probably a better idea to stitch along the fabric. Thus I stitched down both sides of the seams. In coordinating colors. Ha. Why yes, I live for making my life difficult!

I do like the result, though I wonder if the whole thing should be quilting in lots of little lines. Oh well.

I do love the whole shebang; errors and all. I love the layout, I love the fabrics, I love the black part (does that count as sashing?), I especially love the pieced binding. Love, love, love!

I haven’t measured it yet, come to think of it, but for a reference shot, here’s the four year old holding it up with arms outstretched:

See? Sunny day! Still.. love the sun. And the quilt!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Baby Quilt: A Finished Object

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Gorgeous! I love the black and white soooo much! And kudos to Boo for holding it up so well!

  2. Liane says:

    I can’t get enough of your photos of the quilt! It really looks stunning in the natural light. Your backyard is awesome too. The pieced binding really adds to the piece. I can’t wait to see it in real life!

  3. Patty (Megan's aunt) says:

    Give yourself a couple pats on the back. Nice job on the quilt. It’s beautiful. Love the pieced back – I’ve been doing that more and more.

    IF you stitch in the ditch, you iron your seams to one side and stitch on the side with less material. It’s very easy, stabilizes your quilt and sorta defines the pattern.

    Again, beautiful quilt. Oh…and charm packs are wonderful. If you are making two triangles out of one charm, don’t cut it in half. Lay the same size material right sides together with the charm. Draw a line with a pencil from one corner to the opposite corner. Stitch one quarter inch on both sides from the line. Cut down the line and you’ll have two triangles.

  4. kathy says:

    Wowza Carrie, I’m so proud of you! This is gorgeous.

    I’m one that believes all quilts are perfect. It’s all about the discovery and fun of trying new things. There’s satisfaction in getting better with each one but ultimately they are each a beautiful work of art filled with love.

    The other good thing about making quilts is that the longer you own and use a quilt the harder it is to remember what the mistakes were. That’s what a washer and dryer are for.

Comments are closed.