Sweater and booties for a baby, a cowl for me

I finished the baby gifts for our cousin, due in March:

Pattern: Ribbed Baby Jacket by Debbie Bliss
Yarn: Cascade 220 Superwash, 2 skeins (but only barely)

Mods: The problem with newborn baby sweaters is, of course, that babies grow so fast! So I tried to fudge this a bit so it will last longer. The sleeves and body are both an inch longer, thus the rolled up sleeves.

The garter at the bottom was not intended, but the sweater was rolling so bad I had to do something! I think it looks fine. I picked up too many stitches for the garter on the ribbing part, but oh well. The ribbing itself I picked up 2 for every 3 and it worked out well.

I was a bit confused about the number of stitches the instructions gave — it seemed like too many to me. I made sure to pick up extra around the neck, thinking maybe you needed to pick up more to make the shawl collar work. I’ve never done a shawl collar before so I wasn’t sure. Whatever I did, it works! The sweater itself is pretty nice, I think.

I actually finished knitting this in February, but it took until the booties (see below) were finished to convince myself to knit an i-cord and find a button.

This is another button from Aimoobaroo on Etsy. Isn’t it adorable?

So this is the final gift. I hope the parents-to-be like them!

These are the booties.
Pattern: Garter Stitch Booties by Debbie Bliss
Yarn: Cascade 220 superwash

I’m actually not particularly happy with these. They are cute, but I suspect they won’t be that practical. There’s no ribbing on the top part so I’m not sure they’ll actually stay on.

I found the instructions for the sole ridiculously confusing. I’m not sure what’s wrong with me, but I just couldn’t make it work. I ended up doing the k2tog row with 3 ridges left so I could do a 3 needle bindoff with the rest. It’s too thick and squarish, but oh well. Good thing babies don’t walk 🙂

Now for happiness for me! This was my airplane project in January:

I thought, I need something simple, in a circle, that I don’t have to pay attention to and can possibly do in the dark. While holding a child. On a plane.

And lo! I realized I needed to make a cowl out of my lone skein of lovely Malabrigo in Lettuce that I enjoy petting but hadn’t found a good pattern for yet.

There’s not really a pattern for this — I perused cowls on Ravelry for several days until I just decided I needed stockinette. I cast on 80 and increased two rows in the middle there somewhere.

Yes it rolls, but oh well. I did try doing garter stitch at the top but it just flopped over, so I ripped that out and just did straight stockinette.

I lurve it. I carry it with me everywhere and pull it on if it gets chilly. It also matches my green sweater, green bag, and green wallet perfectly. Totally unintended, but apparently this is my color this year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweater and booties for a baby, a cowl for me

  1. Liane says:

    Oh how I love your knitting posts! I have a sweater that needs to be finished and now I am motivated to pull it out again. I love that blue color and the booties look so cozy!! The sweater is beautiful and the garter border on the bottom really pulls it together. I now need a malabrigo cowl….hmmmm That green color really looks good on you. I am still searching for my “signature color”. It might be kermit green, what do you think? Or red?

  2. Jenn says:

    Ooh, that is the second time in a week that I’ve seen that baby sweater. I think I’m going to make it for a friend who is due in July. Gives me lots of time to get started…

  3. P. Mookie says:

    The baby sweather and booties are gorgeous. I love the color. I love the style. Your work is beautiful.

    I’ll be in the area June 19 – June 26 and look forward to meeting you. Megan will have a bunch of stuff planned, but a meeting with Ms. Carrie Logic is a must.

Comments are closed.