Handmade Christmas Gifts 2008

Now that all of my handmade Christmas gifts have been gifted, I can show them off! I made some hats for my bro and SIL.

This is Shedir for my SIL:

And Koolhaas for my brother:


(Sorry for the crappy photo — 4 year olds can only do so much!)

Not much to say about these two. They were fun and dare I saw it, quite pretty! Shedir used the recommended Rowan Calmer; Koolhaas used the ever popular Malabrigo. I understand why people love this yarn. Super squishy! Popular patterns; you’ll find examples all over the internet. I was a bit worried they were going to be too small but apparently all is well. Hurrah! Of course I want to make similar ones for myself ๐Ÿ™‚

This yoga bag was for my Mother-in-law:


(The strap is merely pinned on there; it looks better sewn in place.)

It’s the pattern from Last Minute Knitted Gifts, but I strayed with the yarns. All of these were stash yarns or left over from other projects. One was the recommended Manos wool, the others are Noro Kureyon and Lamb’s Pride. The pink section is my favorite ๐Ÿ™‚

I was really nervous about embarking on this project because you know how different wools felt at different rates? So I did a mega test swatch:

How fastidious am I? I measured and everything. This is the biggest swatch I’ve ever done. It’s even in the round.

The yarns did felt at different rates, but only slightly. I decided if I vary up the yarns enough it would be okay. I believe I switched every two rows.

And so it was! Here’s a picture before the felting. This thing was HUGE! That’s a counter height chair, I’ll have you know. I really didn’t understand why the strap was joined where it was, but I decided to go with the flow.

I’m told that MIL loves it and is using it for her weekly yoga class. Yay! I love successful gifts. Frankly I wish I had one of these too, but I dare say it’s a one of a kind.

The last thing I finished was these mittens for my Aunt:

It’s the Fiddlehead Mittens pattern from Hello Yarn. I LOVE THESE. Love, love, love. Love. Well, I love colorwork mittens full stop, actually. These were such a pleasure to make, though! I could hardly bear to put them down. I love the yarn and the colors (Swish DK from Knit Picks). (Can you spot my one error? I wasn’t about to rip back though!)

Fortunately my aunt likes them as well. I didn’t get a picture of the finished product because I finished them in a hurry so I could gift them in person, but they have a liner that is brown Knit Picks Shine Sport. Both yarns are machine washable which I thought was a good thing. I imagine they’ll keep her small hands warm and cozy on her long walks in the cold winter. Incidently, I wanted to make something for my other aunt, but time got away from me. Next year!

Finally I also made some fingerless mittens for my friend’s mom, Sharon. She’s had a heck of a year and I wanted to send a hug:

This is the popular Fetchings pattern and the recommended Cashmerino Aran. One skein. Not much left!! These wouldn’t fit my hands — my pair took two skeins.

I *think* that’s it. I feel like I’m forgetting something, but that’s all that’s coming to mind right now. I’ve made some other things recently too that haven’t been catalogued — a tea cozy (gift one finished but no photo; now I need to finish mine!), some felt balls for baby, a neckwarmer cowl thingy for me, some gator mittens for Boo which turned out too small and need to be re-done. Ah well. Fortunately I have another tyke that can wear them someday!

I do have to say that without the Year Long Gift Along group, I wouldn’t have been as successful as I was in the gifting handmade arena. Most of these were made during the summer. I’m participating again this year (on Ravelry this time), but my list will probably be shorter.

I haven’t done a 2008 knitting retrospective, and I probably won’t, although I’d like to. That pesky time thing again! I do feel like I didn’t get a lot done this year. But with a new baby and a new house, that’s okay. It’s all good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handmade Christmas Gifts 2008

  1. heather says:

    Oh my!!!! Look at how lovely everything is! I especially love the yoga mat bag!

  2. Katherine says:

    Carrie–These are amazing! What lucky relatives ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so going to try that hat and Fiddlehead mittens!!!

Comments are closed.