New stuff

I’ve been working on something terribly exciting. Well, maybe it’s only exciting for me, I’m not sure! It’s colorwork mittens and I think they’re beautiful.

The pattern is Fiddlehead Mittens and the yarn is from Knitpicks. These are for my aunt who has one damaged hand that gets very cold in winter on her long walks. These mittens will be lined so I hope they’ll be  nice and toasty for her. I’m pretty sure she doesn’t read my blog 🙂 Anyway I’m really enjoying this pattern. It’s mesmerizing; I hate putting them down! I might even have them done by Christmas, but doubtful they’ll be done in time to actually send.

Previous to the mittens I was finishing up my baby sweater debacle.  To recap, I made baby a sweater from stashed yarn and pattern book (yay!) inside a week (yay again!) however it fit him EXACTLY. Which is bad news for baby clothes. So I ripped it out and for some reason the next size up took a lot longer to complete. I mean two months for a baby sweater is just unacceptable.

However. It is what it is and at least it’s done now. Well, except for blocking and buttons. You can totally see where I stole yarn from the (washed and blocked) gauge swatch. I was being lazy and I will probably regret that. We’ll see if blocking fixes it. The pattern is the Child’s Placket Neck Sweater from Last Minute Knitted Gifts (cardiganized). And the yarn is Lana Grossa Numero Uno. I think.

Next is the pumpkin hat I hoped to have completed by Halloween. Yah, right!  Still not done. I don’t even know if it will fit by the time I finish it, which will certainly be post Christmas.

However, it’s never a bad idea to have baby hats for gifting, so I’ll finish it eventually. Especially since we have some babies due in the family in the coming year! Pattern is the pumpkin hat from Itty Bitty Hats and the yarn is same as above.

Finally, not knitting, but a fun project nonetheless. My other aunt (who doesn’t even own a computer so this is totally safe) is getting a teapot cozy which I am designing (inspired by Bend the Rules Sewing. I’m trying not to panic about this! I started the other day by making one for me (love that side effect!). This is an overly felted sweater on which I hope to embroidery a bird or some such. We’ll see. It’s fun to work on!

Looking forward to after the holidays when I can finally post some other christmas pressies that have been waiting in the wings for absolute yonks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New stuff

  1. Jenn says:

    Wow, the mitten is gorgeous!

Comments are closed.