Basting the Baby Quilt

I finally got around to basting the baby quilt!

I say that, but in actuality this is the third time I’ve basted it. It’s the first time I’ve been happy with said basting job.

I love that my kitchen has a hard floor big enough to tape down the backing of a quilt. That luxury did not exist in my apartment. Previously I’d tried just pinning from the inside out but the results were always way too lumpy. This time the quilt is nice and smooth and moderately more rectangular than before.

The basting happened a couple nights ago, but I have yet to actually sit down to do any quilting. Partly because I just keep getting sucked into other things and sewing takes a long time, partly because I’ve never quilted before, and partly because I can’t decide how to quilt the black part. Straight lines? Squiggly random lines? (I’m sure there’s a name for that style but I don’t know what it is.) Spiral? At least the triangle part is obvious 🙂 What about colors for threads? Hmm. I’m wondering if all white in the middle and all black on the outside will be a bad thing on the back side.

Looking forward to quilting, though. Hopefully it will be a fun, educational event and not want to make me rip my hair out, which is likely, so I’m not going to dwell on it. I will remain positive. Maybe I’ll have it done for the Bean by Christmas! 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.