A hat and a scarf

Look! I made something!

The hat is the pillbox pattern from Warm Fuzzies by Betz White. It’s not my first choice of hat (I really want to make the bomber hat) but my monthly craft group decided to try it, so make it I did! I’m glad I did too because it’s really warm.

So cool thing about this hat: It’s a recycled sweater! With the Boo in preschool I’ve had time to go thrift shopping with baby for cheap wool sweaters. This one was a man’s sweater with those stripes going across the chest. Didn’t it work out well? I’ve considered appliqueing a bird or something on there as well (as the stripes don’t line up as well on the back) but meh.. I’ll probably leave it as is. It was very fast to sew. The longest part was probably copying the pattern and cutting out the pieces!

Next up, the bomber hat — I have a sweater felted and ready to be cut 🙂

And finally, my Chevron Scarf is done. WHEW. I started this in August of 2007. Seriously.

It’s beautiful. It’s soft(ish). It’s washable. It’s sock yarn for god’s sake. Don’t ever make a scarf out of sock yarn. Honestly. The tedium, it is neverending. Even with all those lovely, mesmerizing changes in color.

I do love it, but I was once considering making another one of these as a gift, and I can assure you that ain’t happening. I don’t know if this is the right length or not. It’s close. I kept getting different lengths when measuring and finally gave up! It’s long enough. Am I ever glad this is done!

Stats on the scarf:

Both of these should get a lot of wear this winter. That is if I can keep Boo’s hands off the hat! He’s been stealing it. Maybe I’ll make one for him too. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A hat and a scarf

  1. Jenn says:

    Wait, a scarf made out of sock yarn is in Last Minute Knitted Gifts? I think that I question their definition of “last minute.” It’s super pretty, though!

  2. Carrie says:

    Ha, yes, it’s under the “More Than 8 Hours” category. As long as more than 8 hours can include over 8 months!

  3. Jenny says:

    That scarf is beautiful!

  4. Elizabeth says:

    The SCARF is done!!! Have you worn it anywhere deserving (of its magnificance)?

Comments are closed.