Birthday Time

For some reason, despite having grown up with my dad and I being the only birthdays in the autumn, I am now surrounded by autumn birthdays. Friends, friends’ kids, and newly acquired family members have birthdays either past or approaching far quicker than I was expecting!

I am currently making what I hope will be a very sweet birthday present for a very sweet little girl. I’ve already dropped the ball a little bit in that one part I was going to order will have to be done without because I didn’t order it in time.

But all this present frenzy has made me wonder what it looks like to my friends when I make gifts for their children, or more importantly, don’t. On the one hand I know that handmade gifts are appreciated. On the other hand, I can’t always get myself organized enough to make gifts, so sometimes we give store bought items. The irony of this is that it’s often my crafty friends whose kids get store bought items. Not that that’s bad, it’s just not the same, you know? It’s not on purpose, it’s just how things work out.

Anyway.. I know I’ve said in the past how much I enjoy making gifts for kids, and I hope as time goes by I’ll have more time to make said gifts. I’m really enjoying this little thing I’m making too, which I’ll show you after this weekend 🙂 I just hope no one feels offended when their kid gets Lego or somesuch. After all, if we do the store route, the Boo picks out his friends’ gifts, and that’s all good. I generally think that we’re all just doing the best we can, and hope I’ll be forgiven as a bad crafty friend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Birthday Time

  1. sarah says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I walked in on my husband watching How Its Made on Discovery Channel and they were BENDING WOOD!

    Oh remember the wagon wheel? Yeah bent wood.

Comments are closed.