Gift for a California Baby

When my friend Liane announced her second pregnancy, I immediately started plotting baby knits. Making baby presents is quickly becoming one of my favorite things in the whole wide world. Unfortunately. I’m not all that “quick” about it, these days!

First I started some booties, had some gauge issues, finally settled on itty bitty booties, and finished those. Then I thought… what else can I make? This is a baby in California due in the middle of July. Her talented mama has already made a whole layette of fabulous things, so what else could I make to contribute? More hats or sweaters are probably not going to be all that useful.

Then I thought.. TOYS! I’d been wanting to make that Puzzle Ball from Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts. Bingo.

Just let me say this pattern can make your head spin. Twice now I’ve sewn things that have seams crossing at three points and I still don’t understand how they’re supposed to make a point when you turn them inside out without undoing one of the seams a bit. Once I got going though it was pretty easy and once I gave up understanding the directions for sewing it together and just did my own thing, that went okay too. I LOVE the colors in this and obviously want to make one for my baby too!

Here are the booties. It’s the Herringbone Bootees (why am I the only person who thinks that is spelled wrong?) pattern from 50 Baby Bootees to Knit.

I believe it’s Rowan 4ply cotton and size 0 (!!!) needles. I don’t know why it’s curling up at the edges. Perhaps they need to be blocked ๐Ÿ˜‰ The only concern I have is that the cotton won’t hold the ribbing on the inside and they’ll fall off. I hope not though! It’s very similar to the recommended yarn (Jaeger 4ply cotton I think) so it’s not like I was being reckless or anything.

I didn’t manage to send these before the baby was actually born, but that’s okay. She’s so cute she totally inspired me to finish things up and get them sent off! I do think they make a nice pair for a baby gift ๐Ÿ™‚

Congratulations, Liane, and happy babymoon! Do try and get some sleep ๐Ÿ˜‰

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift for a California Baby

  1. tania says:

    I’ve been away too long!

    LOVE the puzzle ball–I’ve checked that book out from the library 3 times now and this time I was hoping to get one puzzle ball complete! (Yes, now I’m just going to buy the book!) Love the socks too…your friend and baby will love them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. sarah says:

    WOW! I commend you for making that ball. It must have taken a TON of patience.

Comments are closed.