Costumes

Besides making toys, we’ve started to dabble in costume-making! This is a very exciting development.

This is a pirate eye patch, requested by the Boo. It’s super cheap and dirty. Crap felt, velcro at the back, sewn together hastily. He was a happy camper though! I should make a better one with elastic at the back so it has more life to it.

This wool felt crown was my idea. I originally got the idea from the Creative Family book, but the pattern in the book requires enlargement on a copier and I don’t have ready access to one of those. So I went web surfing and found a pattern on the Balancing Everything website. Yay!

This crown is made from wool/acrylic felt, actually, and he doesn’t wear it for long. I wonder if it itches? I should make one for myself 😉 The boy picked out the buttons himself, which is why that one on the side is not the best choice since it doesn’t lie flat. Oh well, he seems to like it, despite ripping it off after 5-10 minutes.

I am proud of one thing — I didn’t have to do the cloth covered elastic at the back. I somehow managed to save some really thick elastic that I cut off some pair of trousers or something a while back, and it was the PERFECT size! So that was handy. Also,  these would make great gifts for parties 🙂

Now, if I could just figure out why my pictures are so crap lately! Is it me or are they out of focus? Hmm.

P.S. Now to figure out how to make a spiderman outfit. Ay yi yi.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Costumes

  1. Liane says:

    CUTE! I love the rickrack. That is an awesome crown! Good luck on the spiderman outfit.

  2. sarah says:

    LOVE! the crown.

  3. Jessica says:

    Yay! I love seeing people use the pattern – great job ;o)

Comments are closed.