Quick Knitting Question: Tulips Cardigan

I have a dilemma that I need help with! If anyone has an opinion please comment or email me. Pretty please?

I’m making this cardigan/kimono:

The sleeves are done and I’m working on the back. It’s slow going. But that’s not the question.

The question is this: Should I do the drawstring empire waist or not?

Here’s what I’m thinking: I have a very funky body shape at the moment. It’s not my normal body shape, which I fully expect to return in the next, oh, year or so. I’ve been through a lot physically so I’m not highly optimistic that I’ll get in pre-pregnancy shape any time soon. My pre-pregnancy shape requires bust darts, but usually everything else is okay. (By the way I don’t mean “in shape” shape, just my normal shape!)

Okay, so I just measured where to start the eyelets for the drawstring (I’m making it a lot longer seeing as I have a long torso) and, um, my gut is seriously in the way. I really don’t want to short row the front below the bust darts I’m already planning because if/when I get back to pre-pregnancy size, the front will be too long if I do that. On the other hand, I’d like to wear this, like, now (OK not NOW as it’s 80 degrees inside, but soon), and I’d like it to fit. And the drawstring is the only shaping in the entire garment.

SO! Do I do the drawstring and hope the bust darts work well enough so it won’t matter? Do I leave it off and make kimono-style ties instead? Or use a pin or a single button somewhere as closure? I’m also a little worried that with said gut, if I do the drawstring it’s going to seriously look like a maternity top. And god knows I’m sick of wearing maternity tops.

Any takers? I’m currently thinking I’ll just leave off the drawstring and do something else. On the other hand, I love empire style tops. Argh. Help!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Knitting Question: Tulips Cardigan

  1. Elizabeth says:

    I’d say leave off the drawstring for now and do a kimono tie. I think that’d be pretty. I can’t wear empire-waist tops with loose stomachs because it makes me look pregnant.

  2. Sarah says:

    I do like the drawstring aspect but personally for my body I would put it lower more toward the waist and just extend the sweater to be a bit longer.

  3. Liane says:

    I like the idea of a tie or ribbon sash. What color are you using?

Comments are closed.