Christmas gifts piling up around me

Okay, maybe “piling up” is an exaggeration, but I do have some holiday gifts done already! Thanks to the quarterly challenge over at the Year Long Gift-along knit-along, I was motivated to finish them instead of just plan them.

First up is a gift for my friend’s mom — I think. They’ve had a rough year and I wanted to send her something to let her know I think of them often. The only problem is I’m not sure if this is really her color — she might be more of a red person. This was stashed yarn though and I really enjoyed making my other Fetchings, so I wanted to turn this yarn into the same idea but for someone else!

Pattern: Fetchings
Source: Knitty, Summer 2006
Designer: Cheryl Niamath
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran in a lovely teal

The pattern states you can make these with one ball of yarn, but that it is close and they recommend buying two. I only had the one so I was hoping really hard. Fortunately they didn’t have to fit my big ole’ hands so I knit them to spec and look how much yarn I had left. Crikey! Barely made it. Excellent one skein project, particularly if you’re looking for something nerve wracking.

My second project for the holidays is a hat called Shedir that everyone and their mother has already made. I do think it is beautiful, and lo! I have a ball of the recommended yarn in my stash too. In fact I have two, so this may be accompanied by some fingerless gloves as well, at some point. Time will tell. The recipient of this will be kept secret for a while in case they read this. You just never know!

Is that not the most gorgeous beanie ever? It is a big snug, but then I think it’s meant to be. That other skein might actually turn into a hat for me 😉

this is a better picture of the colors, but look at my cast on edge. What’s up with that? Must learn a better way to join in the round. Incidently, I read that lots of people thought that cabling without a cable needle pulled the stitches too much, and I agree. It is a bit wonky. BUT there’s still no way in hell I’m using a cable needle for that may crossovers, so it’s good enough for me 🙂

Specs!
Pattern: Shedir
Source: Knitty, Fall 2004
Designer: Girl From Auntie, Jenna Wilson (I think the name is right)
Yarn: Rowan Calmer (I LOVE THIS YARN! I happen to have these skeins to test them out for a sweater, and yup, I want enough for a sweater for sure.)

Well, that’s it for now! These are washed and blocked and stored for future gift giving. It’s a wonderful feeling.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas gifts piling up around me

  1. Jenn says:

    Well, now I’M the only one who hasn’t made Shedir! It’s so pretty!

  2. Jenny says:

    Really LOVE the hat, great colour choice too.

Comments are closed.