The Yarn I’m Not Buying

I know I’m not currently buying yarn, but there’s no rules against writing about it, right?

Right. So here’s what I wish I was buying!

First and foremost, every time I see Sarah’s Mariah sweater, I click over to Little Knits and salivate. That is the best deal ever on what sounds like scrumptious yarn (Lana Grossa Numero Uno Tweed in #318 Burnt Orange) and I want it. Now. Don’t ask what for, I don’t know. Signal number one that I don’t need it. But a sweater for me for under $40? Puleeeeze. That is so rare it’s almost worth breaking the embargo just for that.

There’s a lot of hype about a yarn called Malabrigo. I first used this for a soaker for the Boo when he was but a babe. I needed wool and I wanted it to be soft. At the time, I had no idea I had my hands on such nice wool. It was lovely, and it’s worn well. Now I need more. One for the Koolhaas hat for a Xmas pressie, and one for me for the Capitan Hat. Yum.

Sock yarn. Who doesn’t love sock yarn? I promised myself I wasn’t going to buy anymore sock yarn until I’d used most of what I already have, which is about maybe 8 pairs (except at least two of those are destined for fingerless mitts and one of which is currently going into baby stuff). I promise this is paltry in comparison to others, but I suppose that doesn’t matter. Nevertheless! Here’s some sock yarn I’m hankering to try:

Jo Sharp Silk Road Aran Tweed in, I believe, Highland. For Rogue. If I already had the yarn, this would be my next sweater.

Rowan Calmer in #482 Powder Puff. I want to make a Must Have-style cardigan out of this. Especially after using my swatching ball recently, I’m completely in love. It will make the most fantastic spring and fall cardi. And pink!

I’m still searching for yarn for H’s sweater and would love to buy a bunch of single balls for swatching and sampling.

I’m sure there’s more, but that’s what I’ve been thinking about lately! While I do need to make some purchases eventually for gifts and the like, the truth is I have a lot at my disposal already and I’m truly enjoying working with what I’ve got.

And yet… a materialist’s internal struggles never end, do they?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Yarn I’m Not Buying

  1. Jenn says:

    I’m trying not to buy yarn, too, and mostly succeeding, but yeah, sometimes I just want to buy. I have a balance of $95 on a gift certificate from Knit Picks and I’m trying to choose the best way to use it so that I get the most for my money. I did break down over the weekend and buy some Koigu, it’s the most gorgeous green and pink, it’s very springy!

  2. Jenn says:

    Oh, and the Smooshy? It IS delectable.

  3. Sarah says:

    That is why I bought the yarn! It is VERY rare that I find NICE yarn to make a sweater for myself for around $40. Hence why I have put off sweater knitting for myself as well.

  4. Yes I also have a yarn that I am not buying, Wollmeise. The reason why I am not buying it because updates to her shop are random Fridays and I happen to have to work so I don’t have the luxury of waiting and refreshing the website every 10 minutes to see if it’s been updated. I will probably be able to get some of this status symbol yarn but n a year and a half and pay twice for what its worth on ebay.

Comments are closed.