In need of an ornament tree

I want an ornament tree. This, from the girl who rarely decorates.

I think I know why this urge has overtaken me. It’s because my mom has one, and I am supremely taken with the cuteness of being able to change ornaments with the season. I don’t really do wreaths, or those little garden flags, nor do I have a fireplace mantle, all of which seem to be the primary mode of decorating for the season. An ornament tree, though, seems perfect! I may not “do” decorations, but I DO do ornaments! Especially if I can make them myself.

So I’ve been looking around at ornament trees. And, of course, I can’t find what I am envisioning. Leah had the good suggestion of branches in a vase, and then I ran across a similar idea on the Purl Bee of all places:

However. I don’t have space for something like that, gorgeous as it is. Maybe someday when we get a house! For now, I was thinking smaller. And collapsible. Hmm.

In the meantime.. it can’t hurt to start planning hanging ornaments, right? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In need of an ornament tree

  1. Megan says:

    What about an umbrella? 🙂

  2. sarah says:

    My mom has an ornament tree. Not NEARLY as cute as the one you pictured though. It is about 3ft tall and fake. She pulls it out for christmas with ornaments and changes them for the seasons and then takes it down just after easter. So xmas is icescicles (sp?) February is hearts then she does easter stuff after that.

    Oh and by the way I had been coveting that yarn from littleknits for quite a while. I work there on saturdays by the way. Just started not too long ago and it is VERY hard to not spend more money. For the past few years I have been tempted to buy from her but it was always the wrong time or I talked myself out of a purchase. But she has GREAT deals! Seriously every week there is a new deal.

  3. susan says:

    Love the forsythia branches. We did blown eggs when we were little (poke a hole in each end of the egg, mash up the yoke, and then use the top hole to blow out the yolk through the bottom hole). And then you can keep them year to year in egg cartons.

    Love the blog, thanks for you comment!! 🙂

  4. Marce says:

    Right! And now I’m tempted to have one too! 🙂

Comments are closed.