Baby Quilt: How to lay out the patchwork?

I finished the patchwork tonight! Yay!

Well… sort of. It’s a little screwy. But nevermind that! More importantly, I can’t decide how to put it all together. There are mucho options.

Option 1:

Option 2:

Option 3:

Option 4:

Option 5:

I think I prefer Option 2 or Option 5. The others are too formulaic. Frankly they are all looking a little garish to me at the moment, but I’m going to ignore that feeling immediately!

As for the other problems.. check out the nearest black and white zigzag in the above photo. Significantly shorter than the other strips. Shit.

I don’t know yet if I can wiggle it into position, flip it with the other one on top so it’s not so obvious, or if I’ll need to take it apart and do slightly smaller seams.

Other problems? I have neither orange or blue thread with which to quilt the colored strips (using white for the black/white ones). I’m planning on quilting both side of the zigzag seams so colors are necessary. I guess I need to go shopping!

And while I’m there, I also don’t have nearly enough safety pins. That’s all I’ve seen on the machine quilting tutorials in blogland for basting. I wonder if I can use flat pins too? I sort of don’t see why not? Maybe they wiggle too much?

Incidently, aside from the shortness problem, I’ve also had to lower my level of perfectionism. The points in these zigzags are definitely not perfect. My first two colored strips were taken apart many times as first of all I kept putting the pieces in the wrong places (argh) and second of all the points weren’t matching. I did finally get them where I wanted them but it took a lot longer than I was planning on. Tonight I did the final two colored strips and said screw it, just sew it together in a pleasing way and don’t aim for perfect. Worked much better. Quite a few points are off, but oh well. I don’t think it shows up too much unless you’re actually looking for it. I only had to undo one seam. Yay! (I really didn’t like it when the same pattern didn’t flip top to bottom as the strip advanced.)

Anyway.. if you have an opinion on my patchwork layout I’d love to hear it! That will be up next, along with a black border. Then it will be on to basting, quilting, and binding. Woohoo! It might yet be done on time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Baby Quilt: How to lay out the patchwork?

  1. Liane says:

    I vote for #1! Looks great so far. I’d keep the shorter black zigzag at the end of the quilt. You’re almost done! PS I used flat pins for the lone quilt I did and it worked fine–just kept all the pins facing one direction.

  2. Megan says:

    I’ve used flat pins. Do you know to sew one strip one way and the next one the other way to help you keep it square? that will help with the short piece. HTH.

  3. Jenny says:

    I like #1 and #5 best 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    “I didn’t know you had a blog! Or that you did stamping and scrapbooking! Why didn’t I know this?!”

    Umm, cos I never put my blog addy on a comment before (and have generally kept it pretty quiet from the ‘real’ peeps I know), and because I’ve only been stamping and scrapping for the last couple of years. Scrapping for less than a year in fact.

    🙂

  5. kathy says:

    I like #2. I love digital photos for choosing!

    I like safety pins. I’ve never tried using straight pins. The larger the quilt the more important it is to have it stay sandwiched securely as you fold and bend the quilt to get it through your machine.

    I ordered mine from a dry cleaning supply store on the web:
    https://www.walterhesse.com/customer/product.php?productid=17452

    The quality is outstanding and they don’t rust. See my post here about pin basting a quilt:
    http://pinkchalkstudio.com/blog/2006/06/12/mr-es-quilt-machine-quilting/

    I have a ton of these Carrie and I’d love to send you some. I will never need 1,440 pins for a single quilt! Send me your snail mail and I’ll get them to you.

    Your quilt is beautiful, love your color combination.

Comments are closed.