So not enthused.

I’m supposed to be working on some golf club covers for my mom. Don’t worry, she requested them, it’s not going to be a surprise.

What has been a surprise for me is how unenthused I am about the project. I generally love making stuff for people. So what’s different? Is it because I don’t play golf?

Well… sort of. What I’ve come to realize is that I love making gifts for people when I get something out of it too. Part of my love for knitting revolves around the fact that I enjoy the actual process, I like exploring new patterns and yarns, and I just plain enjoy the finished objects. For example, I can’t make fifteen million hats and scarves for myself. They have to get gifted to someone. I only have one head.

Anyway. Golf club covers are… unexciting. They’re like really fat socks with no heel, which is incidently my favorite part of making socks. The colors we picked out are blending together a little too much and I’m not sure what to do about that either.

I’m annoyed because I really want to make my mom something special. She has a special birthday coming up and I’m really sad I can’t be home to celebrate with her (flying in the third trimester ain’t happenin’!) I want them to be good, and useful, and to make her happy. She golfs a lot. So I’m determined to make them.

But lordy. So uninspiring. Give me strength! Maybe I should go buy some hot pink yarn as well as this blue and green and go for argyle. After all it’s for golf, right?

P.S. I’m not following any pattern in particular. I found a bunch online and they all seem to have the same gist. Here are a few:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So not enthused.

  1. Leah Adams says:

    I am ashamed to admit how long it took me to finish a pair of ponchos for Jen Witsoe. So long that I sewed the second one out of recycled felt because I just couldn’t bear the idea of knitting another one. It killed me! It was excruciating. Perhaps if it had been a surprise I wouldn’t have minded as much. I think your insight is spot on.

Comments are closed.