The problem with good seams

I don’t think I would be tooting my own horn too much if I said I was pretty good at seaming. My seams are often somewhat invisible, which while desirable and good, makes them a bitch to hunt down should you need to take something apart!

I finished hubby’s new hat last night (Zeebee!) but left figuring out the grafting in garter stitch for this morning. I am actually quite enamored with regular grafting (Kitchener stitch) but I’d never done garter stitch grafting before, so I figured I should be coherent when attempting it. After all, the whole point of grafting is that you shouldn’t be able to tell where it happened. Invisible.

And.. after about 5 tries, I just did it wrong and left it. It’s been cold and hubby needs a new hat! I’m not quite sure what I’m doing wrong although I suspect it has something to do with my not following directions and using a different provisional cast-on than the pattern called for đŸ˜‰ Nevertheless.. I think I’ll try and take it apart this weekend and give it a few more goes. It’s no good having a visible seam on a hat!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The problem with good seams

  1. Liane says:

    Ah yes garter stitch grafting…you gotta make sure you end one row on the right side and the other on the wrong side–I sucked until I figured that one out.

Comments are closed.