Valentine’s Socks

Happy V-day! Look, I made some Valentine’s Socks. They’re for my Mom. Hopefully she’ll get them in the mail today šŸ™‚

Pattern: Sweetheart Socks
Designer: Chrissy Gardiner
Source: Interweave Knits Holiday 2007 (I am SO glad I picked this up!)
Yarn: Tofutsies
Needles: Size 1 Addis

These were some slow going socks. Not that this matters, everything is slow going for me these days, but the cabling really made these plod-worthy.

That said, I love the effect. Pretty!

This wasn’t the best pattern choice for this yarn. I had chosen the yarn first for mi mama as it’s got chitin in it, which is apparently somewhat antibacterial and made from shrimp and crab shells. I figured she would like that since she’s somewhat into alternative medicine. The variegated colors make it hard to see the pattern though. Those are in fact hearts running down the front of the leg/foot. You can see the pattern much better in the solid red used in the magazine. But I figured since I made them my mommy wouldn’t care šŸ™‚

The yarn itself is fantastic though. Very smooth and silky, with a bit of a sheen. Definitely going to acquire more for myself someday! I wish it came in solid colors instead of all variegated.

I did have to go down a needle size from the suggested size on the ballband as the resulting fabric from 2s was way too loose. I was worried about this since I needed to size up the pattern from 0s (Mom and I have, er, generous-sized feet) but it all worked out in the end. Mom’s legs are skinnier than mine and her foot a tad longer, but generally if they fit me they’ll fit her. Plus the hearts will look way better on her. Break out those Mary Janes, Mom!

Oddly, my favorite part though is the back. I’m not sure why. Sort of looks like Xs and Os and reminds me of pretzels for some reason. I might make these again in some solid color for me — or I might not. There are a lot of sock patterns out there I want to try!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Valentine’s Socks

  1. Liane says:

    Beautiful! Although the part about the crab shells has me sort of itchy feeling… (I’m allergic to crab). Did you do magic loop or use dpns? I need sizes 0-2 and I’m wondering what brand to buy. Metal, the better to stab myself with–

  2. tania says:

    Oh my, these are amazing…love everything about them…!!!

Comments are closed.