History by quilting

I just had to point out this article on quilting and history over at Sew Mama Sew. It’s interesting in and of itself, but also reminded me of a few things:

1. I have this fascinating book upstairs, which of course I’ve only ever thumbed through but keep meaning to read, about how quilts were used to aid the Underground Railroad. (Since I just looked that up apparently it’s disputable. Ah, well.)

2.  I often think about pioneer women for some reason (probably Laura Ingalls Wilder’s fault) and how their lives would have gone. All day cooking and cleaning and doing whatever it was their family did to survive, but the evenings would have been devoted to needlework — probably. I don’t really know. But I think I would have liked it. Besides the whole Hard Life part!

Anyway. I’m always a fan of teaching history through mediums that make it real and more interesting and really tell a story, so this article struck a core with me. I am trying really hard not to “get into” quilts but I’m afraid they’re going to find a way to get to me anyway!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.