Last FO of the year

I did it! I finished that little baby hat during the day on the 31st. Woohoo!

Pattern: Norwegian Sweet Baby Cap
Yarn: Socks That Rock in Barney Rubble (lightweight)
Needles: 2.5mm (size 1 Addis) and 3mm (size 2 Knitpicks)

I lurve it. Good thing too because at the beginning this thing really made my brain hurt. The instructions are basically written out in a paragraph and I KEPT running into problems! My stitch count was always off and I seemed to have more increases than I needed.

Eventually I abandoned that very last K1 so that that section would mirror the other sections. I also eventually realized my eyes were landing on the wrong next row so I kept screwing up that way too. Sigh. I did eventually get it right and the decreases were lining up properly so once I got going it went smoothly. But I swear, I ripped it back at least 5 times. Grr. But so many people have made this, clearly I was doing something wrong!!

I’m not entirely sure on the size.. 3 months? I will make another hat too at some point that should be more newborn sized. I really want the kiddo to come home in handknits 🙂

It’s not blocked yet, but that’s okay. I have time. I am purposefully being optimistic.

And anyway, now I need to think about what yarn to use for the sweater I want to make as well! I had my heard set on ordering some more Socks That Rock (in a different colorway — brown and blue) or trying out the new Sea Wool, but I really should try to use something from my stash. I just don’t have anything that is calling out to be my baby sweater. I have a solid green that would be nice but I also have a pattern earmarked for that.. and besides, I love the baby surprise jacket in variegated yarn. I have a very dark variegated in browns, greys and olive but a) it might be a little too dark and b) I think it’s probably too thick as well. There’s probably enough left from the same skein as the hat, but I think it’s too thin. Sigh. Decisions, decisions.

Anyway! It’s done and on to other things. What will be the first finished project for 2008? Hmm!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last FO of the year

  1. gretch says:

    Did you use circs or regular needles? I absolutely adore this hat!!! Gorgeous colors… I want to make one badly and I suspect that I’ll have problems as well (such positive thinking huh!) because the way the pattern is written looks too unstructured for my directionally-challenged brain.

Comments are closed.