First of the Christmas Finished Objects

Since one aunt already opened her gift and the other does not own a computer, I feel fairly safe showing these Christmas treasures before the actual day!

This holiday season I wanted to make a few special knitted pieces but not overdo it. I tend to think I can everything when, if history is anything to go by, I cannot. Many people in my family have had a rough year this year, particularly one aunt who has had a knee replacement. Since I only have one other aunt, who is a gem, I thought it would be fun to make something special for both of them. And since I’ve been wanting to try lace, lace scarves/shawls it was!

This is the Forest Canopy Shawl. Terrible pictures, sorry! But I wanted a pic of it on, I think it shows it off better. The yarn is Fiesta Yarns La Boheme in, obviously, black. I think they call it something fancy like Onyx. This is really neat yarn, it’s two stranded with rayon boucle and mohair. Some people have had a nightmare of a time with the two strands being different lengths, but this didn’t hit me until the end when it was no big deal. A wee bit itchy, I’m afraid, which is unfortunate since I have two more exceedingly gorgeous balls in the stash. The black is beautiful though because there are spots of purple! Trying to catch that in a photograph was a nightmare so you’ll have to take my word for it.

The knitting itself was great, easy peasy and fast. I think I screwed up once but now I can’t find it so I’m not going to worry about it! This isn’t the recommended yarn (although I happen to love the recommended yarn and may well make one of these for myself some day in the it) so I did take out one repeat before finishing. I had less than a yard left so that was a good call! My aunt is small so it was okay in that respect as well. I was worried about blocking, I’ve never blocked anything that had to be stretched in my life, but it went okay. I did stealth blocking, pinned to the carpet after the child went to sleep and picked it up in the morning. It worked, although a blocking board would work better.

This is the one that has already been opened, and my aunt loves it! Yay! She dresses up for church so while there’s not much call for shawls these days, I hoped it would get some use. And I think it will. I hope my aunt feels the love!

Now this is for my other aunt. She’s a very practical lady and I just knew if I made a big, fancy lace shawl it would get delicately folded up and put in a nice, dry cupboard for safe keeping. Since I seem to be morally against that concept these days, I decided to go for a lace scarf that was made out of a study yarn that might bear a hope in hell of getting some use.

And this fit the bill! The pattern is Branching Out from Knitty and the yarn is the called for Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool. I love this stuff. In fact I have another skein and it may turn into exactly the same thing again some day (always buy extra!). I was really surprised how much it opened up during blocking. It looks good unblocked, but blocked it’s just WOW. I think it looks even better on. I even like the backside. I pretty much like everything about this scarf! I hope my aunt likes it too.

Frankly I can’t believe I made these. I think it’s safe to say I’m not a novice anymore.

====

There are two more holiday knitting projects yet to be revealed — one is waiting for after Christmas because it is for an in-law. My in-laws have apparently instilled in my husband that you are not to open Christmas presents before Christmas despite the slew of boxes landing at our door (see above: My family does not adhere to this sentiment, obviously). There’s one other bit which is supposed to be adverting Christmas knitting disaster but is turning into a disaster of its own, right in front of my eyes, so I shan’t talk about that one right now. I’m going to pretend it isn’t happening. Tra la la la la, la la, la, la!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First of the Christmas Finished Objects

  1. Sylvie says:

    those are very nice presents! you’ve done a really nice job on both.

    I really like the color of the scarf!

  2. Jenny says:

    Fab! They’re both great but I totally love the scarf x

Comments are closed.