Miss Violet

I’ve been into making gifts for our little friends lately, birthday parties and whatnot. I find it rewarding for me, less expensive in the long run (you know, once you buy the pattern you can make it several times), and the kids seem .. okay they’re not jumping with joy, but they seem to like things well enough. The parents are happy because it’s not painted with lead and made in China. Everyone is happy! Hurrah.

Here’s the latest creation: Miss Violet!

I made this for the 2nd birthday of a little friend who likes both purple and cats. Ideal, no? The pattern is called Pointy Kitty from the Wee Wonderfuls website.

I have to say this was a bit of a pain in the butt. The sewing part was easy peasy. Turning it right side out? Not so much! It literally required surgical tools to stuff the thing.

That said, the author does warn you that turning it out is a bear πŸ™‚ And I love the result. The pattern calls for button eyes but knowing this little girl loves to put things in her mouth, I did felt. You can see I made a bad choice using white around the black part of the eyes, but this was masked somewhat in the end with a black sharpie. Gotta love the sharpie.

The Boo wants one of these so I see a few more in my future! As for more “wee wonderfuls”… well I’m not so sure. I like making toys and all, but these require a lot more patience and finesse than you would think, and honestly I’m not sure I’m up to the task! I don’t think I’m as in love with these as other people. But hey, that’s okay! This is enough for me for now, and you never know.. an obsession could build later πŸ™‚

In the mean time.. great pattern, cute result, impressive gift. Love it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.