February Baby Sweater

I recently finished this little gem for a friend whose baby is due December 12th. Really must get it in the mail pronto!

Pattern: February Baby Sweater
Designer: Elizabeth Zimmerman
Source: Knitter’s Almanac
Yarn: Dark Horse Fantasy, 2 skeins (That would be super soft and washable/dryable for a non-knitting mama!)

The buttons aren’t actually on in this picture, although they are now. I didn’t really have any suitable stash buttons (gotta work on that!) but I thought these looked nice. I almost used white but that would be too Christmasy.

One problem: I think it’s around a 6 month size which would make this wearable smack in the middle of summer. Which around Seattle would be fine, but my friend lives in Kentucky. Oh well. I hope it’s the thought that counts on this one!

Anyway. Although I initially had trouble with the lace pattern and was deeply regretting choosing to do the arms in the round, by the end I was thrilled with the entire design! Hurrah for not seaming up the arms and hurrah for the beautiful lacework. Perfect for a little girl.

Let’s hope the holiday mail gets this there on time!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February Baby Sweater

  1. Jenni says:

    This is beautiful!

  2. Angela says:

    I’m in the process of knitting this, and I fouled up the lace part, so decided to speed things up (um..Christmas present) I would do the body in stockinette. I think that will work, but I’m just getting to the sleeves… when you knit the sleeves in the round, did you use the same amount of stitches as directions indicate?

Comments are closed.