WIP: Christmas knitting ensues

It’s September. I’ve barely begun to think about Christmas shopping — and this isn’t a good thing. I like to be done E-A-R-L-Y! Christmas shopping stresses me out.

In order to attempt to keep myself sane, I’m only promising myself a very few handknitted holiday items. Two, to be exact. I don’t think my aunts read this, but they are beautiful people and it’s time they had some beautiful from me! (Or so we can hope.) Therefore, I’ve started this:

The pattern is Branching Out from Knitty, and it’s in Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool which I am adoring working with. Soft, strong, not at all splitty, subtle color changes, really beautiful yarn. Unfortunately I’m not that good at lace (yet?) and I’ve screwed up majorly once, but I’m choosing to leave it there because a) there’s no way I can successfully rip back several inches of lace without either screwing it up significantly an entirely different way, or starting all over, and b) it actually doesn’t look that bad. One branch heads off a different direction. Nothing is perfect in life, and neither is my lace, apparently 🙂 It’s a bit of a slog, not boring enough to watch TV to, but not entertaining enough to do more than a couple repeats at a time. Nevertheless, I hope my aunt likes it!

With fall coming (oops, apparently as of two days ago it’s here!), I have a new scarf on the way too:

It’s been a while since I’ve made myself a scarf. This is a wholly unoriginal color concept and there are a million versions of this out there, but I don’t care. The colors are just divine, and nothing I would have chosen in real life so I’m glad someone else figured out the combination for me! For the record, it’s the Chevron Scarf pattern from Last Minute Knitted Gifts, and it’s using Socks That Rock in Watermelon Tourmaline (this is the one that I would have never picked in a million years) and Farmouse (which I actually quite like and might use again someday). I hope I get it finished before spring! It’s my current carrying-around piece so it will probably be a while before this gets any serious lovin’.

Finally, I’m done with one of my sister-in-law’s socks and just one more to finish! I crack myself up thinking I could finish these in a week. Who am I kidding?? Myself, obviously. Don’t trust me with knitting deadlines; I unwittingly lie, lie, lie.

Love this yarn too, it’s Lorna’s Laces in Tahoe.

That’s it! Another aunty love gift to come, the second sock to finish (obviously — that one isn’t even Christmas!) and that’s all my holiday knitting I’m promising. Although the list of things I’d like to accomplish is huge. Huge, huge, huge. Won’t happen. But a girl can try 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.