Bitching about Widdershins

My sister-in-law mentioned she’d like some handknit socks, so of course I wanted to make some for her! Share the love, if you will. I knew we’d see her on vacation, so I thought it would be fantastic to get one sock done while she was there and finish up the other one shortly thereafter so I could mail it to her pronto.

The only question was, which pattern? I’ve actually only completed two pairs of socks for myself — one was toe-up (my first set) and one was cuff down. Of course I’ve attempted to make more socks than this but they haven’t worked out yet! The problem with cuff-down socks is that they’re harder to try on while you’re working on them — so I thought toe-up was the obvious solution so my SIL could try them on as we went.

The only other problem is that most toe-up socks use a hell called the “short row heel” which is basically what store-bought socks also use. The problem with short row heels (at least for me) is that I get some holes I can’t seem to get rid of, plus I’m just totally in love with heel flaps. I think they’re beautiful, I love knitting them, and I love how cushiony they are. Plus that extra bolstering of the material would hopefully help prevent holes in one of the most rubbed areas of the sock. So I decided to use a pattern called Widdershins from Knitty.com.

And thus enters my severe lack of experience knitting socks. Widdershins uses a heel flap knit backwards. “Brilliant!” I thought.  Except the pattern only lists one size, one much smaller than my SIL’s foot (and hers is much smaller than mine so there you go). I generally have no problems re-sizing things so I didn’t get it a second though. Except I’m too inexperienced with heel flaps to know how to adjust it properly.

So, after three attempts that were all wrong, wrong, wrong, I gave up and started again cuff-down. But of course by this time SIL was leaving the next day, and I didn’t finish even one before we came back home.

Dammit.

I will finish them and I will mail them and I really hope they fit!! Sigh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.