Things I’ve recently learned about sewing

This year has been a great year for crafting and creativity. I’ve met a lot of interesting people, I’ve read a lot of interesting blogs, and I’ve tried new techniques and projects. Along the way I’ve learned quite a few things.

1) How to bury threads. This is a fabulous technique and it looks so neat and clean! I grew up backtacking, and I do suspect I’m a backtacker at heart — the lazy side often wins. However I’m trying really hard to bury those seams when the opportunity presents itself and I’ve been really pleased with the results! Thanks, Kathy πŸ™‚

2) Washing, drying and ironing fabric is worth it. I KNOW. They tell you to do this and I never did before now. It is so worth it though. Things actually line up. No stretching fabric or winging it. Either it fits or it doesn’t. I’m even washing things that will probably never get washed again (like with bags), just because it seems like the right thing to do. My iron has never had so much use. In fact, it permanently resides in my craft room now, because I sure as hell don’t iron our clothes πŸ™‚

Incidently, those notches on patterns are worth marking too. Never done that before either.

3) I learned how to use elastic thread. Holy moly that was adventurous!

4) There are a whole host of books out there that teach you how to sew better through cool and interesting projects. I’m definitely a “learning by doing” sort of person so these are right up my alley!

5) I’ve learned how to use a rotary cutter. I’ve always owned one, but never understood how to use it. It helps you have a self-healing mat. And those see-through rulers are helpful as well. Thanks, Megan πŸ™‚

6) I learned how to do strip piecing for quilting, something I’d never even heard of but is very, very clever. Thanks again to Kathy for this one!

7) Mostly I’ve learned that there is a wealth of information out there, even for the most casual observer, and if you just read blogs, you’ll pick up an amazing amount of stuff! For example, I never knew what pinking shears were for, and now I do (they seem to eliminate fabric fraying).

The internet is an amazing place, and I’m a better person for it. And so is my sewing πŸ™‚ Yay!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I’ve recently learned about sewing

  1. kathy says:

    I’m quite proud of you for burying those threads! I’m compulsive so it comes naturally πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.