Baby Surprise Jacket

I gave the baby sweater to my friend Megan, so now I can talk about it! Yay! Here is the Baby Surprise Jacket in all its finished glory:

This is a beautiful, beautiful thing. The pattern is Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman in The Opinionated Knitter.

I loved making this, and I was so happy when I found out that my friend was having a girl because I really wanted to use this yarn I’ve had my eye on for quite a while: Socks that Rock in Little Bunny Foo Foo.

This pattern takes a whole lot of faith. In fact it made no sense to me whatsoever until I bound off for the neck. Then I could flip it around and see that it was, in fact, making a sweater shaped object. But on the needles? Towards the end it looked like this:

Er.. it looks like an amoeba. My clever hubby could see straight away what it was, but I had to keep flipping it around to make sure it hadn’t morphed into an alien mushroom.

So here it is flipped around. Not quite finished, but almost. Amazing. I don’t know how Elizabeth Zimmerman thought of this. No wonder people think she’s a genius.

The yarn I used is lovely. I’ve never used Socks That Rock before, and it’s yummy stuff. I adore how the color variations turned out. In pictures I’ve seen of actual socks it pools rather strangely, so I had been afraid to buy some for that purpose. This, however, was perfect! I do wish the pink popped a little more, but it’s good for a baby, I think 🙂

In case you can’t appreciate how small this thing is, I decided to take some pictures for comparative purposes. This is, obviously, a matchbox toy car. And in case you can’t remember how small those are, below is my hand.

Small, eh? I hope the baby can wear it longer than a week!

Anyway. It was a privilege and a joy to make this, and to give it my friend (who is a knitter and is not afraid of wool, yay!). I definitely plan to make another, because if nothing else, it’s amazing watching the shape emerge and seeing how the yarn colors work out.

Who knows, maybe I’ll make one for the bear to keep. 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby Surprise Jacket

  1. Sheila says:

    I am surfing around looking at everyone’s Baby Surprise Jackets on their blogs. Your jacket is very cute. I like the way the yarn knit up. I just started my BSJ today and it is very addicting to knit.

Comments are closed.