Re-usable sandwich wraps

What is this, you might ask?

Why, it’s a sandwich wrap!

I got the idea from my friend Megan who has these very clever sandwich wraps that I’ve been very envious of ever since I first saw them. They’re called “Wrap-n-Mat” and are actually fairly inexpensive. But of course you know me, and what I also thought when I first saw them was… I can make that! Right? Right.

Now, you remember that lovely oilcloth I procured at Esther’s that I didn’t know what to do with? You see where I’m going with this.

Today, I am proud to say, I made something. I actually finished making something. I made something which can be used tomorrow. I LOVE it when that happens! In fact, it’s more than “made”, it’s sewn, which takes a lot more time and effort for me than knitting. So here it is. I made a sandwich wrap!

There’s the tablemat part. Nice and easy to clean oilcloth.

Then you fold it up…

Attach the velcro…

And voila! You have a sandwich wrap.

Now, there are a few issues with this sandwich wrap. H is going to test it out for me tomorrow, because I suspect the velcro needs to be a little tighter. The binding, while a brilliant idea IMHO, was a PITA. I think I have a better idea of how to work it for the next one, so I hope that part improves. There’s no napkin. Of course I can make a napkin, but at this point, there’s no napkin. This is only an issue because our current sandwich-taking-method involves wrapping the sandwich in a paper towel and inserting that in a plastic bag, so it’s rather handy to automatically have your napkin with you. Of course there’s nothing preventing us from still using paper towels, I would just prefer to get away from them. And finally, it’s not very manly. Hopefully H won’t mind. I think it’s absolutely adorable!

As for the Wrap-n-Mat.. well they have a patent. Clever cogs. I suspect this means I’m not actually supposed to make these. I dunno how technical one can be about these sorts of things.. after all, the patent specifies clear plastic on the inside and I clearly didn’t use that. Nevertheless, it was obviously not my idea. I have to admit these sorts of technical things always worry me. However.. I do think mine are cuter 🙂 I hope to make a few more and reduce our baggie usage even more. Hurrah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Re-usable sandwich wraps

  1. Rachel says:

    That’s awesome! Matt’s mom bought us a sewing machine for Christmas & these types of things seem like the perfect use. Yay for no waste. Or as little waste as possible.

  2. Rachel says:

    Oh, yeah and on the “Wrap-n-Mat” site–what the hell qualifies as an “adult print?” I refuse to be an adult if those prints are for me.

  3. Lori says:

    I like yours! And, I was also disappointed in the fabrics on the Wrap-a-Mat site. Is it stiff? Will you share the dimensions?

Comments are closed.