WIP Report: Cirrus Headband

Well since I finished both the CPH and Boo’s Stripey Vest I don’t have a lot to show! Well, except this:

I’ve been hankering after some new headbands since I wear the two I have pretty much constantly (Molly’s Headband and Calorimetry). Combine that with a deep and abiding love for the swatch created out of the Classic Elite Classic Silk, and, well, you have a headband!

At first I couldn’t decide what pattern to do. I was modelling it after the Molly’s Headband, but with a different lace insert. At first I winged it, but clearly I’m not that good at lace yet:

I was going for a big center leaf with smaller leaves on the side, but lo! I could not for the life of me figure out how to make the bottom of the leaf GO AWAY. Then I tried a few other things, gave up, and opened up those stitch reference books I have but have never used. Aren’t they the coolest things? I found the diagonal lace stitch I used in the Vogue Knitting book. Easy peasy, but it really reminds me of cirrus clouds, thus the name.

Anyway, I have a new headband! Yay! More will be in the works as I need more colors, but for now, I’m pleased.

As for other things.. I had to rip back RR because I did something stupid on one of the shoulders, but oh well. It’s a slog, it’s been a slog, it’s going to remain a slog, and I’m going to shut up about it now.

But this means I need another new project! I ordered needles to re-do those sidewinders socks, so that may very well be next. I’m still pondering lace things, but seem incapable of making a decision. I may start a new bag. I wish Ravelry were up and running so I could link to the pattern I’m thinking about using for my recycled sari silk!

Anyway. That’s all for today. Toodleoo!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WIP Report: Cirrus Headband

  1. kathy says:

    Wow, this is beautiful. I love how the diagonal pattern looks when you’re wearing it.

Comments are closed.