Triangle Lace Shawls

KniTV recently did a post on some triangle shawls, which totally reminded me that I’ve been meaning to do the same thing! Right after Baby Bea died I got this wierd urge to make lace. Specifically a lace shawl, something I could wrap around myself. Something beautiful. So I ordered a couple books and did some internet research and even bought some yarn. I haven’t actually made anything yet though. This is primarily because:

1) Lace is so intimidating!
2) I want to try some beginner patterns first before I dive in with a big triangular lace shawl, and
3) I don’t plan on making a lot of lace, so I want my triangular lace shawl to be very special.

For some beginning lace work, I’ve already done a lacey headband, I’m working on Rusted Root which has a lace panel, and I just finished a Saturday Market Bag which is essentially lace. I want to make Branching Out (from Knitty) and the Forest Canopy Shawl for Christmas presents and both of those look not overly hard. So that’s my beginning plans. Hopefully by the completion of these I’ll feel confident to do a real lace shawl.

So here are my contenders:

  • Shetland Triangle from Wrap Style. Pics here and here.
  • Ene’s Scarf from Scarf Style. Good pic here.
  • Swallowtail from IK Fall 2006, with more pics here.
  • Icarus from IK Summer 2006, with more pics here.
  • Adamas Shawl on KnitPicks, seen here.
  • Seraphim Shawl, seen here.
  • Flower Basket Shawl, seen here.
  • Leaf Lace Shawl, seen here.
  • Cherry Leaf Shawl from Victorian Knitting Today (can’t find a good picture of this online, but I actually don’t have quite enough yarn either)
  • Fir Cone Triangle, seen here.
  • Luna Moth Shawl, seen here.

I got most of these from browsing the lace groups on Flickr, and the lace knitalong blog. In browsing for the above links I ran across this very comprehensive list of triangle shawls. Wow!

As usual, if there is an opinion out there on which to make my very special shawl, I’d love to hear it. Too many to choose from! Although currently the Leaf Lace is winning in my mind, but don’t ask me why.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Triangle Lace Shawls

  1. mshellion says:

    I like the shetland. The edges of the others kinda put me off. I like that the shetland has a nice mesmerizing pattern throughout, not just near the edge.

  2. Madge says:

    *grin* Most of the patterns you’ve listed are ones I want to make, too.

    My vote? Flower Basket or Leaf Lace.

    P.S. If you’re interested, I’ve compiled a little list of lace knitting tips. Please email me if you’d like me to send it to you.

  3. Megan says:

    I’m going to tempt you with the Pacific Northwest Shawl on elann.com:

    http://elann.com/productdisp.asp?NAME=Fiber+Trends+Leaflet+S%2D2000+%2D+Pacific+Northwest+Shawl&Cat=&ProductType=4&Count=1#

    EZ says lace is the best for traveling, lots of knitting and a small package-have you seen 1200m of lace yarn? It’s the same size as cascade 220! I”m going to start the EZ pi shawl for my trip to Ital, but I’m not sure how to wear a circular shawl!

  4. tania says:

    Oooh, can’t wait to see which one you pick! My vote would be for the Icarus or Swallowtail.
    I somehow can’t bring myself to knit a triangular scarf though I like them very much. I think it might swamp my 5’3″ self! 🙂

Comments are closed.