Mali dress turned summer shirt

I have this dress my friend Kim brought back from Mali several years ago. I love it, even though it’s pretty crazy with the tie dye. More importantly though, I love the hand embroidery. At least it looks like hand embroidery. I also love that it came from Mali. I don’t have anything else like it.

The thing is, I never, ever wear it. It’s basically a sheet of dyed fabric sewn up the sides with a headhole. So it’s hung in my closet for years and years. When I joined Wardrobe Refashion, this was one of the items I had in mind that could use a “refashion” so to speak.

Here’s the before shot:

And here’s a closeup of the embroidery:

And here’s what I did with it!

I’m very pleased. There are, of course, problems, namely that it’s too big, the shoulders are too low (part of the same problem), and it puckers a bit at the shoulder where I wanted it to slant down for some shaping but wanted to preserve the embroidery. At the moment though, I don’t care, because I MADE A SHIRT! I figure I’ll leave it like this until we’re done having kids because it’ll probably make a nice summer maternity shirt too. Then I can take the sleeves off, bring it in a bit, and it’ll fit nicely later on.

I made the pattern by tracing another shirt. In my meager search of the internet, there aren’t a whole lot of plus size patterns. That’s okay though, I have a book on hold at the library all about making your own patterns. Whoop! I can’t wait to find time to make another shirt. This time out of an African pillowcase, obtained in London. Hurrah!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mali dress turned summer shirt

  1. Julie Leung says:

    Hello! Congrats on your lovely shirt. I realized I hadn’t looked at Wardrobe Refashion in a while (turns out the feed I have in my aggregator has something wrong with it) and when I stopped by that blog, I recognized your photo! Thanks for coming over a couple weeks ago. It was great to meet you and I am so impressed and inspired by all your creations here. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re having a great holiday weekend. Love the “Apache wife” ID. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.