What to do with oilcloth?

I recently bought some oilcloth at a great sale at Esther’s on Bainbridge Island, but I haven’t a clue what to do with it. It just seems like extraordinarily useful stuff. And it’s cute to boot!

For example, there are these baby changing pads that look really nice and wouldn’t be too bad to make. Liane’s oilcloth table cloth looks superb, and we need to move Boo out of his high chair soon so that would certainly protect the table from the madman that the Boo becomes when faced with food. A previous commenter (thank you!) mentioned Fleebags.com which has some inspirational oilcloth bags which would be fun to make. Particularly since the pattern I bought is blue with strawberries, yum! I especially like the backpack and the “Mini-Flee”. I’ve been thinking about sewing my own “perfect” backpack, so maybe save it for that? Certainly be useful stuff for the inside of a diaper bag seeing as it’s wipeable and all. Black outside, cute inside? Hmm!

But then there’s my original thought, which is just a big playmat. Currently we’re using vinyl tableclothes, but what if I backed the oilcloth with something like flannel and put a border on it so it’s like a big waterproof blanket. Good for playdough, painting, picnics, whatever! That’d be good too, right? Actually if you do an internet search there are loads of ideas.. lunch bags, bibs, diaper bags, tote bags, tents, etc.

So many possibilities! What to do?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do with oilcloth?

  1. kathy says:

    What a great link to fleebags. My favorite is the backpack.

  2. Amy says:

    Any of those things would be great. I particularly like it for tablecloths though. We always pack an oilcloth into our camping supplies so we have something to cover up the less-than-clean picnic tables at campgrounds. It’s also great for a tablecloth when you have messy little eaters around 🙂

Comments are closed.