Noro Reclamation

In 2002 or 2003, I can’t quite remember which, I made my first sweater. I was inspired by this woman at work who knits and had this gorgeous, sweater made with a self-striping yarn I had never heard of, called Noro. It used entrelac, a technique I had also never heard of. I loved it. Nancy was a big girl too, and I thought, hey! I can make that!

I ventured to the store where she obtained the yarn and pattern, and lo, the saleswoman was wearing the same sweater! It was fate, right?

So, I bought the yarn (well over a hundred dollars, gulp) and the pattern and set forth. I learned entrelac, I enjoyed it, I learned kitchenering for the shoulders, I had fun. I made it in, oh, 7 or 8 weeks? Anyway.. when it was finished and put together it was, to put it mildly, huge.

I was pleased. It was done. But also, in a way, I was pissed. This was my first ever sweater, and I didn’t know what the hell I was doing. I hadn’t measured myself, I just made the largest size. In retrospect, this size was approximately 6 inches too large. It would have been helpful if the saleswoman had helped me out with sizing here. Why I didn’t at least hold it up to myself before I stitched everything together, I have no idea. It didn’t occur to me. You knit something and it fits, right? Ha! I also have learned a lot about what fits me since that time, and boxy sweaters with dropped sleeves and no shaping whatsoever are just not flattering on me.

Anyway I wore it diligently a couple times, despite the fact that it reached my knees, and then it got hot or something and I never put it on again. Now I’ve been staring at it for a long time, wondering what I can do with all that yarn. Because it’s Noro, it’s beautiful yarn, and it deserves to be made into something I’ll actually wear. So, I’m ripping it. Here tis, nearly done:

Truth is it’s been a bitch to undo. I didn’t do kitchener correctly, for one thing. I don’t remember how it was decreased for the neck so I had to pull the top apart one strand at a time for a while. Finally we got to the blocky part and it’s been fairly easy going from there. Although Noro Silk Garden? Tears apart really, really easily.

Oh well. Now I have a LOT of Noro yarn to play with! I’m thinking about making this wrap sweater from Big Girl Knits, but I tend to shy away from horizontal stripes, so I’m not sure. It won’t hurt to marinate a little longer 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Noro Reclamation

  1. tania says:

    I love that Noro! I’ve had Noro on the brain after unearthing skeins and skeins from a box the other night…what to do with them…hmm. I LOVE that wrap sweater and hte been trying to find one to knit myself!!

  2. Liane says:

    OMG! What fun it will be to have all that Noro. I have a bag full of a lovely color but don’t know what to make with it. How about a clapotis? I was going to make one, but then interest fizzled after I was bored of the first one. I feel sort of bad for having $120 worth of noro in the drawer, but now I don’t feel so bad! Is it silk garden?

  3. Megan says:

    Hello! That’s half a blanket right there! Stop ripping! You could have just felted your sweater (jK).

Comments are closed.