Future Projects

These are the stash pictures I took because I didn’t think I had anything to write about on Friday. Pictured to the left are the skeins of Rowan Handknit Cotton waiting to become a striped vest for the Boo this summer. The two colors at the top probably won’t be used. I only need six (two skeins for the “main” color thus two blues) and I think the inside five work the best. But it’s so hard to tell online that I ended up with a couple extra. Washclothes, anyone?

I didn’t take any photos of the other Handknit Cotton I have because they’re fairly boring colors in and of themselves — navy, red, white. However they are destined to become a pirate sweater for the Boo, something I’ve mentioned about then thousand times now. I am looking forward to making it, but I’ve discovered I just can’t have too many projects on the go at the same time. It makes me jittery. And it’s time to make something for me, so there you go. Pirates must sometimes wait.

Below is a picture of some of the skeins I’ve picked up recently for swatching purposes. As you can probably tell, I’m seeking something in teal. I really want a teal sweater. The problem is picking which pattern to DO in teal and finding a suitable yarn that comes in teal for it!

This will come in another post someday, when I’ve taken all of the pictures, but I have many sweaters in mind for myself. All of these skeins are possibilities for those projects, so not completely frivilous purchases, plus I’m learning lots about different fibers, how they’re mixed, how they’ll look knitted up regarding drape, stitch definition, etc, and most importantly, how they’ll feel against my skin! I have this goal of a sweater for both seasons (summer/winter) in a variety of colors that I wear most often so that I’ll always have something to wear that makes me feel beautiful. Too many of my clothes don’t fit well and I want to correct that. Which is, of course, the beauty of knitting. If you can just figure out what the hell you’re doing, you can make pretty much anything fit you! At least I hope so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Future Projects

  1. tania says:

    Hey! I recognize that DB cashmerino aran. Please don’t tell me *you’re* the one who bought the last ball from AS 😉 p.s. I’ve decided to go stripes with my hat…wonder how it will turn out!

Comments are closed.