Why I Knit Socks

I used to wonder why people bothered to knit socks. 1) They’re cheap in stores, 2) they wear out, 3) it looks like a pain in the ass, and 4) once you’re done with one sock you have to do it all over again!

And then I tried it, loved it, and want to do more. Mostly because of this:

This is how store bought socks fit me. The heel is under my foot and the cuff is behind my ankle. This is how they’ve mostly always fit so it’s not exactly a problem, and I didn’t really know any better. However, it’s amazing the difference it makes when something actually fits. It’s…. nice. Really, really, nice. It’s like finding jeans that just fit. It’s amazing, actually.

So I’ve definitely joined the sock making brigade. Not to mention they make fabulous travelling knitting projects. Now… I just have to learn to make two at the same time so I don’t have Second Sock Syndrome! Oh and I’m going to try it out on circular needles too so I don’t have Pointy Sticks of Death around my toddler. (Thanks, Megan!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I Knit Socks

  1. Scott says:

    It’s impossible to find jeans that fit – it’s like the fourth law of Thermodynamics or something. It’s little known, but the real reason behind the current (stupid) fashion to wear jeans halfway down your butt, showing off your prison-white underwear, is simply that the “youth of today” find it as hard to find jeans that fit as we do. There is truly no hope left for humanity.

  2. Sarah says:

    I just have a very hard time wearing store bought socks anymore.

Comments are closed.