Must learn continental knitting

Check out this rather useful video on continental knitting. Very clear, and I especially appreciate the end where they compare throwing/english style vs. continental when doing 2×2 ribbing. You can really see how effortless continental is compared to the constant hand motions in the throwing style!

I have an odd history with continental knitting actually. It is, ironically, what I learned first; ironic because I was in England at the time. I was never very good at it though. I couldn’t figure out how to hold everything at the same time, so I wedged one needle between my legs and then used both hands to work magic with the other needle and the yarn. I didn’t understand how all those movies showed old women knitting with both needles in the air. How did they do that?!

Finally I went to a knitting group in the US where I was shown the throwing/english style, and ah ha! Much more sense. Although really I do a sort of combined version of the two, throwing somehow meant I could hold both needles at the same time. Handy since I’ve come to love circulars and there’s nothing to wedge in one’s legs with circulars.

I would like to learn continental again though. It looks so much more efficient, and my hands DO get tired of constantly moving that yarn around. Must try again sometime!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Must learn continental knitting

  1. Wendy says:

    I knit continental, though my purl is different than that video. Here is a video I made last year. It isn’t good quality, just put my old digital camera on the video mode and went for it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1IXIhDR76pQ

Comments are closed.