Dipping beeswax candles

At the house where I learned that oats don’t look like oats, I also learned to dip candles. I vaguely recall perhaps having done this before, or at least seeing it done before, like somewhere such as Shakertown. This is what we came home with!

They are definitely not perfect, but I like them homemade looking ๐Ÿ™‚ It was much fun. There was a pot with water around a can for melting the beeswax, which smells mighty good by the way. Then you have another pot with water around another can which you keep filled with the wax for dipping. I only did four (one is missing from the picture above because the Boo wanted to play with some, and since he helped I figured why not) but if you do 12 apparently you don’t have to wait between dipping, you can just keep going.

As it was I dipped four strips of candle wicking waiting in between until they dried a little bit. Apparently you do this because otherwise you’ll just melt off the layer of wax you put on before! What was amazing is that for a while it doesn’t look like you’re getting anywhere. And then, suddenly, you have a candle. It’s like at some point it just magically gets fat! And of course you have to keep pinching the bottom drips off otherwise they get long and the layers of wax don’t go over the top anymore.

Anyway it was lots of fun, plus I got a couple other ideas. 1) Sand candles — you can press your hand in sand, put wicking in, and pour in wax. Presto, candles! 2) You can roll candles by just buying sheets of beeswax. Definitely the easiest choice out of the three but more boring ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think the hand one sound like awesome grandparent presents. Another idea is something I remember making ages ago: Simply pouring beeswax in wax paper cups. Stick them in the fridge, then the cup peels right off when they’re done. What I specificly remember doing is putting ice cubes in the cups first, then pouring in the wax and sticking them in the fridge. Then you end up with swiss cheese candles ๐Ÿ™‚

And yes, Boo did help. Thankfully he was more interested in the oat flaking going on a few feet away, but he did put his hand on mine and “helped” me dip a few times ๐Ÿ™‚ He loves candles so this was a good activity, seeing where they come from!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.