Hat finished!

I finished H’s hat! I’m really proud of it, plus, it seems to fit! I especially like the starfish shaped top 🙂 Mostly I’m just happy because I finally got to make something for him, he who hath long suffered my ignoring him and spending his money for the sake of yarn and knitting 🙂

Pattern: generic brim up k2/p2 ribbing with spiral decrease at top. I did look at patterns but everything in my books seems to call for chunkier yarn. I started off casting on 85 for a gauge swatch, measured H’s head where he wanted the hat to sit (23 inches because he wanted it a bit big), frogged and cast on again with 110 and it is just about perfect! I wanted to do a sort of spiral finish because H is a bit of a math boy and I thought he might appreciate it 🙂 I may line it with black microfleece if it’s not warm enough.

Yarn: 1 skein Cascade 220 in black (stash yarn!)

If the picture looks funny it’s because I had to fiddle with the contrast to get the spiral to show up! I would put dates on when this was started and finished, but I am so totally clueless with dates at the moment it would be hopeless 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.