New Knits

With Christmas items done, I can’t help my mind turning to what to make in the coming months. This is not really a “to do” list because the likelihood of my actually finishing this many projects is pretty minimal — especially with a baby on the way. But still.. for prosperity’s sake.. lists are good!

I found myself flipping through some baby pattern books the other day. Obviously I want to make some baby booties, some soakers, and perhaps a hat or two. I’ve tried sweaters and they’re rather large on babies, plus it’ll be a summer baby so I don’t think I’ll waste my time unless I come across a pattern I cannot resist πŸ™‚

I really want to make a scarf for Boo (which I’ve started but ran out of yarn) and a sweater or two. There’s a Debbie Bliss zip up sweater that I love the look of, plus a skull sweater pattern around somewhere that I also thought looked really cool. The boy could also use some mittens.

As for myself… ahhh! Too many things to choose. I have two different sock yarns waiting to become socks, plus I really want to try the Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock yarn. I am also obsessing about Handmaiden Sea Silk with which I’d like to make a lace shawl or two. I would love to learn how to do colorwork properly, like those norwegian sweaters you see around the holidays. Or like these mittens. Another felted knitting bag would not go amiss as the one I’ve made for myself already is rather small. Good for socks, not so much for sweaters. And finally, in every single magazine I get there is at least one sweater I want to make, the current winner being the featured sweater on the latest edition of Interweave Knits.

Argh. Seriously. Not enough time. Before I know it, it will be time for holiday knitting again! But isn’t it fun? πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.