Does comedy grow on trees in Canada?

Why is almost every Canadian I’ve met or heard of so damn funny? It’s quite wierd. Equally, I don’t know that many Canadians.

I saw the Yarn Harlot, AKA Stephanie Pearl-McPhee at a book signing today and she is so damn funny! I mean I knew she was funny because her blog is funny and her books are funny, but still. I haven’t laughed so much in ages!

I would go into detail about what she talked about, but turns out it summarized a fair bit of what’s in her new book, Knitting Rules! Things like how to handle the situation when someone discovers your yarn stash. For what it’s worth, here’s my yarn stash. It’s paltry, believe me:

One of the down sides of moving a lot: H knows exactly how much yarn I have. Bummer. It’s not the sort of thing a knitter likes to divulge.

Anyway the talk was highly enjoyable, and I will divulge more of the wonders in the book as they apply to me whenever I get around to reading it (insert eyeroll here). Other highlights include calling non-knitters Muggles (hee hee), a very terrible joke about a cop, a pullover, and a cardigan (another eyeroll here), and several stories about how non-knitters clearly just aren’t knitting correctly because how is it possible to have tried to knit yet not enjoy it? Honestly I wish I could have taped it because it’s pretty much all left my head now. But it was great. Just take my word for it. Looking forward to the book!

I also got to check out some of Ms Stephanie’s knitting, which is absolutely remarkable. I only hope I can accomplish such high quality knitting some day, including considering a sock to be a mindless task. Oh, such hopes and dreams! Thanks, Stephanie, for letting us know we’re not alone.

P.S. she signed my book “Obsession is normal” hehe!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.