Holy Craftin', Batman

There’s this weblog, Loobylu, of this girl who is a craftaholic. I haven’t paid a lot of attention to this blog before, although it’s hovered on my radar as something to check out. Who wouldn’t want to find out new cool things to make? Because I certainly have a lot of spare time on my hands.

This post, however, caught my eye with the words REPRODEPOT FABRICS. Oh my goodness. My heart fairly skipped a beat. What have we here?

We have some delicious goodness, people. We have fabrics that are just BEGGING to be made into something. About ten things pop into my head all at once. I hardly know where to begin. Given my current lifestyle, however, I do have one thing in particular in mind.

You see, I really want to carry Nathan on my back. In theory this is possible with a sling, but since the boy likes to STAND I am wary of putting him on my back with a simple loop of fabric holding him there. So I discovered, through the Milk Club, holders like the Sachi Carrier and Ergo Carrier, both of which are versions of something called an Asian Baby Carrier or Mei Tai, a traditional baby carrier from the far east. The thing is, I’m a round person and I am hesitant to spend that kind of money on something that might not fit me.

So what do I do? Try and make one, obviously. And who wouldn’t want a baby carrier sprinkled with Sushi? My god, I’m about to have a coniption (sp?). I’m supposed to be going to bed but my brain is spinning. Brain, stop it. You can look into this more tomorrow. That’s the point of this post. Really.

And also to remind myself to get a better icon for this category. Sheesh. And maybe I should rename it to something more crafty. Hmm.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Craftin', Batman

  1. eek says:

    I’m probably violating some hippie parent rule by suggesting a product that isn’t a version of “Asian Baby Carrier” (*snort*) but don’t they make backpacks for kids, like with buckles and vinyl web straps and such? I’ve seen some pretty big dudes packing kids around in them, they’re adjustable like a real backpack.

    I guess they don’t have little cartoon sushi on them, though.

  2. Carrie says:

    You don’t want to get me started on the pros and cons of different baby carriers 🙂 Suffice to say the kind you see in stores tend to compress baby spines and aren’t as good for them as slings or other types of baby carriers that put the baby’s weight on their legs and bum instead of their developing spine. That is all.

Comments are closed.